Latest News

Iran, Afghanistan sign MoU on electronic exchange of customs information

The agreement on electronic exchange of customs information between Iran and Afghanistan was signed during a ceremony by the two countries customs chiefs in Tehran.

(SHADA: TEHRAN) -- Under the agreement, information on customs cooperation and trade exchange will be exchanged electronically, which will eliminate the possibility of forgery and smuggling in addition to speeding up trade and reducing costs.

Speaking at the signing ceremony, Mehdi Mirashrafi, the head of Islamic Republic of Iran Customs Administration, emphasized the need for both sides to expand economic ties, and said: Although Afghanistan is one of the top five trading partners of Iran, given the capacity and interest of the two countries to expand trade and economic cooperation, the volume of trade exchanges between the two sides could be higher than the current level.

There are good opportunities for developing cooperation between Iran and Afghanistan, he said, adding: Iran's Customs Administration has a wealth of experience in implementing ICT-based projects, which can be useful for the Afghan Customs.

Conducting training courses, implementing e-TIR, establishing joint customs gates at the borders, electronic exchange of information, and use of the North-South Corridor will reduce trade costs and increase customs operations at the borders of the two countries, he stated.

Ahmad Rashad Popel, General Director of Afghan Customs, also expressed satisfaction with the expansion of customs cooperation between the two countries and highlighted issues such as improving educational partnerships, managing risk, and resolving transit problems, and added: We are ready to implement the e-TIR project, but we must first provide the infrastructure for the project.

He also announced the readiness of the Afghan Customs to establish a common border gate and expand legal trade.

During his four-day visit to Iran, Ahmad Rashad Popal also visited the customs borders of the two countries in Sistan and Baluchestan, Khorasan Razavi and South Khorasan provinces.